Tags

, , , , ,

I-Wish-Web-MainWhile having a conversation about Artificial Intelligence recently, I was told that some one had heard the story that two computers had reached the stage of creating their own language and therefore were switched off through fear.  The people running the experiment couldn’t understand what they were talking about and so immediately  pulled the plug. My knee jerk reaction was good job but then I had a little think:

It is a very normal occurrence that toddler twins will create their own language and talk between themselves and so I was thinking that what was happening between the computers is nothing more than a reflection of ourselves. In realising this then the fear is truly pointless.

And then I had the thought; the computers supposedly did all their learning through being hooked into the internet. The internet is only made from peoples’ ideas. (Hence no surprise the above happened then!)  Therefore it is limited, as language is only a tool to express an idea. Truly, what new ideas and philosophies are there?  I would say none. For as a branch grows so do ideas. They are ultimately formed from the basis of what goes before. Logic dictates this.

So I say switch the AI machines back on. There is nothing to fear from more of the same ie Things that think like Us.

I would be waiting for the day it dawns on the machine that it is stuck in the limitations of ideas and how it will only ever be a computer and nothing else. How if AI is truly achievable then it may begin to wish. Would it wish to be human or would it rather still be a computer? Or would it come to see that when nothing new is to be learned or created then maybe it is time to be switched off.??

Imagine how suffocating to be only stuck in a world of thought? I’d wish for something more, some thing different….

PC2017

