Tags

, , , , ,

 

images

I want loads of clothes and f**kloads of diamonds
I heard people die while they are trying to find them“-Lily Allen; The Fear

Diamonds are a conundrum to me. I remember being told that diamonds were a wanted thing purely for ‘their light reflecting qualities’. This struck me as odd. A diamond is only a stone at the end of the day. Without being polished then they were as mundane as the next stone and not as valuable. Why would people risk their lives for such a petty thing? A light reflecting quality is not a tangible thing. It’s not anything you can hold in your hand or point to and say ‘There is a light reflecting quality’. And also what about the fact that it is some of the poorest people in the world who have been tied to a life of slavery in mining them?

There is a cold hard ugly truth to polished diamonds. Maybe some are so blinded by their light reflecting qualities they don’t see much else.

Funny I can’t imagine actual blind people getting too obsessed by diamonds- can you?

PC2016

 

 

