Tags

, , ,

Someone said to me the other day ‘Why do you remember such obscure rubbish?’ and my honest answer was ‘I don’t know, I just do.’ and this set me thinking about remembering things.

One of my own experiences of remembering things was when I was doing my Physics A level and I had a real bad time trying to get through the practical exam. So to gain back some marks I thought I would make a real effort and memorise some of the text book. And this I did. Word for bloody word. The examiner got “textbook answers” that day, hahaha.  Got the delight of my life when it paid off and I was rewarded for my efforts with a C. This realisation that school was just a memory test from start to finish shocked me and in some way left me disappointed. Did I understand my A level Physics?. In someways yes, in others no. I felt a fraud as I was lacking confidence in my understanding.  But the experience left me realising that perceived knowledge i.e what others think you know and actual understanding i.e what you know you know can be two completely different things.  And in this world when it comes to education the understanding can be irrelevant as long as you provide the correct answer. Memorise and spit it all back out again. You gain the grade and the world solely judges you on that grade for the rest of your days. You can get away with superficial knowledge.

Understanding though is different a ball-game. Currently the world that we subscribe to is ‘Knowledge’ passed on from generation to generation. But if you had to understand the world from scratch: Would you see the world as it is currently prescribed to us? xP

